Shrimp Fried Rice and taking a hike

So last time, I told you all that I was making homemade ice cream. It sure was tasty. Except that it was like I went and got a box of ice cream from the back of the freezer at Rite-Aid. It was a little hard for my taste. And because of the consistency of the ice cream, I didn’t take any pictures since the ice cream didn’t look good to me.

However, I did make Shrimp Fried Rice and a leafy green Salad with a Soy sauce based dressing. Now maybe for you “chefs” out there, this is nothing difficult, but for me, it is always an accomplishment to make something good that i don’t typically make. Here is the recipe I used for the shrimp fried rice:http://www.foodnetwork.com/recipes/shrimp-fried-rice-recipe/index.html

I also made these omelet cups that I found in a recipe book. Let me tell you they were so tasty! Probably one of the things I have enjoyed the most that I have made recently. Here is the recipe for that:

  1. 1. Preheat oven to 475 degrees.Coat 6 non-stick jumbo muffin pans ( I used my regular muffin pan, and just made 12) with 1/2 teaspoon unsalted butter. In large microwave safe bowl, melt 4 teaspoons butter. Add 4 cups frozen hash browns (1 pound), thawed, and 2 egg whites; season with coarse salt and ground pepper and mix thoroughly. Place 1/2 cup mixture  in each muffin cup (I just divided it between the 12 muffin cups), firmly pressing into bottom and up each side of the cup. Bake 15 minutes.
  2. 2. Meanwhile, in a small non-stick skillet, melt 1/2 teaspoon butter medium. Add 1/ small red onion, diced small, 1 small red bell pepper, stemmed, seeded, and diced small, and 4 ounces ham steak ( I used bacon that I cooked and chopped), diced small. Cook, stirring occasionally, until onion is softened, about 7 minutes. Season with salt and pepper. Divide vegetable mixture evenly among cups and top with 3 ounce cheddar, grated (3/4 cup). Bake 2 minutes. Remove from oven and crack 1 large egg into each cup ( I don’t like runny eggs, so I soft scrambled mine before). Season with salt and pepper and bake . * If cracking eggs on top, bake 8 to 10 minutes until whites are set, but yolks are runny. If scrambling before about 2 minutes will do; you don’t want to over cook your eggs. With a small offset spatula, remove cups from pan and serve immediately. Serves 6.

The last thing that I wanted to share is the view from the place where I have been hiking lately. I have been going to a place called Lime Ridge Open Space. Enjoy!

This entry was posted in Bay Area, California, Food, Places to visit. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

