Plethora of Pinballs…and other fun things

So I am trying to make sure that I am regular, but of course many times I get caught up in so many things!

This weekend I had the chance to do some really great things. I went to an Art Gallery in San Francisco, Ca, close to the Fisherman’s Wharf. It was the Rodney Lough Jr Museum (if I am not mistaken). In any case, this man has captured some of the most beautiful places in the country. Absolutely beautiful. I cannot express to you how wonderful it is. However you can take a peek here…http://www.rodneyloughjr.com/

Now for all of you music lovers, like myself, I went to this wonderful little club/lounge in Oakland, CA called Era club. There was not a lot of dancing, but people singing the night away. Not karaoke style, not amateur night either. These people were superb. People singing jazzy, bluesy renditions of popular, mostly neo soul songs. At the end of the night, a young woman did a jazz rendition of “Raindrops on Roses”. Let me tell you she was absolutely wonderful. She did not just sing the song. She sang it, she scatted it, she moved it around, she sped it up, she slowed it down, she took the song all over and let it rest in a place I have never heard it. I was mesmerized and inspired not only by the song, but also by the sheer talent she displayed in singing a soulfully jazzy version of this musical theatre song. Can you tell I was and still am excited?

So the third and second to last great thing was a visit to a little bakery called Cinnaholic. Cinnaholic is located in Berkeley, CA and is a small quaint place that is also full of personality if you pay close enough attention. At this place, vegan cinnamon rolls are baked fresh and topped with things that most of us can and cannot imagine to top the classic cinnamon rolls. My good friend had caramel frosting and a topping that escapes me. I had a classic cinnamon roll with freshly sliced apples. The chef in me, fell in love, and cannot stop thinking about. You can get frosting in flavors such as caramel, chocolate, and peanut butter; with toppings ranging from fresh fruit to oreo cookies.  And if you love all things green and healthy, go try one of these vegan cinnamon rolls and eat it with a biodegradable utensil. The best of both worlds indeed. http://www.cinnaholic-berkeley.com/

So the last wonderful thing that made my weekend, was a visit to the Pinball museum in Alameda, CA. My, what  hidden treasure this is! If you are at all interested in games, this is a great place to visit. It tells you the history of the pinball machine and then you can play unlimited pinball games. The pinball machines you can play were made in the 1940’s until the present. They also have on display some of the oldest pinball machines made. So I got a history lesson, and I got to spend the afternoon playing pinball! The cost is $15 to get in, but you have in and out privileges all day.

All in all, I definitely think I fulfilled my mission to find beautiful, wonderful fun things to do at a low-cost!

Oh and check out this little beauty of a couch I saw at EQ3 in Emeryville, CA! I love this gray couch!

This entry was posted in Art, Bay Area, California, dessert, Food, furniture, games, Music, pinball, Places to visit, Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

